Bambinelli

December – Advent

In 1969, a mere nine years after I was born, St. John Paul II instituted the Advent “Blessing of the Bambinelli” when children are invited to bring the baby Jesus from their nativity sets to the altar for a blessing. This sweet celebration provides a visual connection, especially for our little ones, between home and church as we all prepare ourselves for one of the holiest days of the year.

Last Sunday, at the conclusion of Mass at Holy Rosary Church in Washington, D.C., the priest motioned for parishioners to participate in this very celebration. I was so touched as I watched not only children, but also many of the elder members walk toward the altar, each clutching the precious centerpiece of their family’s nativity scene. 

How is it even possible that I had never witnessed this blessing before? I continue to be astonished that after six decades of life I can still be surprised by what I don’t know – especially when it comes to Catholic traditions.

Holy Rosary has become our church away from home as we continue to travel between Arizona and Washington. According to its history, Holy Rosary was established in 1913 as an “Italian” church where immigrants would be welcome to a parish that nurtured their spirituality while also keeping their Italian culture alive. To this day, one Mass each weekend is said in Italian, and the parish is home to a robust school where children and adults learn and practice the language and culture. We felt welcomed the first day we walked up the steps and into the church artfully filled with murals and statues of the Blessed Mother and Holy Family. Sun pours through stained glassed windows and into the church, which is styled in the form of a medieval Roman basilica. After Mass, we usually walk next door to Casa Italiana, the church hall, to visit with friends (and sip espresso) before going our separate ways into Sunday and a new week (https://honoringmary.cua.edu/index.html%3Fp=7121.html).

I have been to churches in Indonesia, in Canada, in Mexico, and in Italy. No matter where I am, I find deep meaning in experiencing the Eucharist even when I don’t understand the words. I am fortunate to speak enough Italian to communicate, but I certainly do not grasp every word and nuance. This forces me to listen in a more focused manner to the readings, the Gospel, and the homily. The music at Holy Rosary is spectacular, and I now feel comfortable singing along, relishing the musical syntax of the Italian language as I try to manage a host of vowels tripping across my tongue!

The manger scene at Holy Rosary Church, Washington, DC

Years ago when we were stationed in Naples, Italy, I looked forward to holiday visits to churches throughout the city where “presepi” depicted the Christmas nativity. These elaborate scenes include townspeople, shepherds, animals, magi, musicians…and of course, the Holy Family. Presepi are not limited to churches; they can be found in store windows, piazzas, and in alcoves tucked along several of Naples’s narrow, meandering streets. One of my favorite places in the world is what we Americans call “Christmas Alley” located along Via San Gregorio Armeno in Old Naples. There, craftsmen and vendors make and sell pieces for the presepi. I have several in my own Nativity set at home.

I am a believer in sacred moments. While I am a little embarrassed that I had not heard about this nativity blessing before, I think this must be the year I was meant to learn about the Bambinelli.  We are spending Christmas on the east coast instead of our desert southwest. We will not be watching our grandbabies opening their gifts from Santa, and I won’t be making pounds of pasta and dozens of cookies for the family dinner (although I did make a scaled down batch of Italian butter cookies for friends here). On the other hand, my husband and I will be together and able to spend quality time with our Philadelphia family and friends. I have placed a small manger scene on a table in our Virginia apartment. On the kitchen counter, I have a rosemary plant shaped like a tree that I bought at Trader Joes! There are even a few ornaments hanging from the scented branches. I thought I would be sad, yet, with each passing day, I find myself experiencing the Advent journey toward Christmas from a fresh perspective and with a quiet joy I did not anticipate. 

When we got home from church last week, I went to my computer to discover a bit more about the tradition of the Bambinelli blessing. I found Pope Francis’s blessing for this year:

“And now I will bless the ‘Bambinelli,’ the little statuettes of the Infant Jesus that you, dear boys and girls, have brought here and then, returning home, will place in the Nativity scene. I invite you to pray, before the creche, that the Nativity of the Lord will bring a ray of peace to children all over the world especially to those forced to live through the terrible days and darknesses of war, this terrible war in Ukraine that is destroying so many lives, and so many children. I wish you all a blessed Sunday and a good journey towards the Nativity of the Lord.”

Buon Natale.

7 thoughts on “Bambinelli

  1. I had not heard of this reason either until our new pastor at St. Pius asked us to bring our nativity Jesus statue to be blessed. There were about 20 of us who did. What a lovely thing to do for this advent season!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment